The Eurorack Modular Synthesizer format

Eurorack is a specification for modular synthesizers, invented by Dieter Doepfer in 1995. Using the classic synthesizer CV/Gate interconnections Doepfer created a string of modules for his system, and other manufacturers eventually followed.

From 2010 and onwards the format has grown dramatically, with many smaller boutique manufacturers making specialised modules – all following the same standard.

Besides Doepfer, some of the more well-known manufacturers are:

  • MakeNoise
  • Intellijel
  • Mutable Instruments
  • 4ms
  • Roland
  • TipTop
  • Cvejman
  • Qu-Bit
  • WMD
  • Jomox
  • AJH Synth
  • Dave Smith
  • Dave Rossum
  • Flame
  • and countless others

Ranum Studio Copenhagen has a large Eurorack modular synthesizer, which you can check here.

[gdlr_divider type=”solid” size=”100%” ]

(Image from